20th December 2014 New Years Eve Traditions

I spent NYE 2013 in Holland and heard “Gelukkig Nieuwjaar” more times than I can even begin to count. Including the standard three kisses too! By the end of the night I had whiplash from all the kissing and a frog in my throat from all the guttural “g’s”! In English we call December 31st New Years Eve, it is the Eve of the New Year and to me that makes sense. The Dutch refer to it as Oudjaarsdag or Oudjaarsavond, “Old Year’s Day” or “Old Year’s Evening” respectively because it is the night of the old year, which I have to admit makes sense too.NewYearsEve

New Year’s Eve in the Netherlands just like everywhere else in the world stands for parties and fireworks. Traditionally, the Dutch will visit family and friends, eat oliebollen (doughnut balls), pop a bottle of Champagne at midnight and watch the firework. That’s what I did last year anyway. The Dutch have a more personal approach rather than a grand social affair. Post the midnight hour when the fireworks begin is when the night becomes more social.

Continue reading 20th December 2014 New Years Eve Traditions